ArcelorMittal, Luxembourg

ArcelorMittal announces new organisational structure

ArcelorMittal announces that Lou Schorsch, 66, senior executive vice president, member of the Group Management Board and CEO of ArcelorMittal Americas will retire from the company, effective end of February 2016. Mr Schorsch joined the company in 2003 as CEO of Ispat Inland. Going forward it has been decided to structure the Americas business with dedicated leadership for four distinct business areas.

Jim Baske will be chief executive of ArcelorMittal Nafta Flat Rolled, with responsibility for all other operations in Nafta, excluding USA but including AM/NS Calvert. John Brett, currently executive vice president finance, planning and procurement for ArcelorMittal USA, will be appointed chief executive of ArcelorMittal USA effective 1st January 2016. Andy Harshaw, the current CEO of ArcelorMittal USA, is retiring but will stay with the company until 31st March 2016 to assist with the leadership transition. In South America, Jefferson de Paula and Benjamin Baptista will continue as CEO South America Long and CEO South America Flat respectively. All four will report to group chairman and CEO, Lakshmi N. Mittal.

Brian Aranha, currently vice president global automotive and commercial coordination, will assume leadership responsibilities for Mr Schorsch’s additional roles of strategy, CTO, R&D, CCM and global automotive, also reporting to Mr Lakshmi Mittal. He will be supported by David Clarke as head of strategy and CTO, Greg Ludkovsky as head of R&D and Brad Davey as head of global automotive.

Separately Robrecht Himpe, currently executive vice president and CTO of ArcelorMittal, will be appointed chief executive of AM/NS Calvert, working closely with AM/NS Calvert president Chris Richards and the rest of the Calvert team to accelerate the ramp-up of this important asset.

Additionally Mr BC Agarwal, 64, group head of finance and member of the management committee, will retire effective the end of February 2016. Mr Agarwal joined the company in 1973 and was involved in the setting up of the first plant in Indonesia. Genuino Christino will take up the position of group head of finance, reporting to Aditya Mittal, group CFO and CEO of ArcelorMittal Europe. 

ArcelorMittal will also take the opportunity to simplify the management structure in-line with the ongoing drive to promote a performance-driven culture, empowering the segments to deliver optimum business results. As a result the Group Management Board, which was established to ensure a smooth integration following the creation of ArcelorMittal, will be replaced with a more flexible structure. The CEO office - comprising the CEO and CFO - will work directly with a team of seven executive officers, who collectively encompass the key regions and corporate functions. 

The executive officers are as follows:

Senior executive vice president:

  • Davinder Chugh, Senior executive vice president, CEO of Africa and the CIS

Executive vice presidents:

  • Brian Aranha, Executive vice president, head of strategy, CTO, R&D, CCM and global automotive

  • Jim Baske, Executive vice president, CEO ArcelorMittal Nafta Flat Rolled

  • Henri Blaffart, Executive vice president, group head of HR and corporate services

  • Jefferson de Paula, Executive vice president, CEO of ArcelorMittal South America Long

  • Geert van Poelvoorde, Executive vice president, CEO of ArcelorMittal Europe Flat

  • Simon Wandke, Executive vice president, CEO of ArcelorMittal Mining.

The CEO office and executive officers will be further supported by the group management committee, which meets regularly to discuss the key strategic issues affecting the company. The following executives are also appointed to the management committee:

  • Jose Manual Arias, CEO of BD South West, ArcelorMittal Europe Flat

  • John Brett, CEO ArcelorMittal USA

  • Genuino Christino, Vice president, head of group finance

  • Daniel Fairclough, Vice president, corporate finance and head of investor relations

  • Paramjit Kahlon, CEO ArcelorMittal Kryviy Rih.

ArcelorMittal, Luxembourg